Welcome to Mobile Tech in Developing Asian Societies

June 13, 2010 at 4:12 am (Uncategorized)

The original plan for this blog was that it would exclusively deal with cell phone usage in Pakistan; however, I quickly realized that the limited research on Pakistan was going to make this a bit of a hurdle.  Thus, I decided that I would open up the discussion to include all developing Asian countries and societies with the added bonus of looking at all mobile technologies/social media, not just the cellular phone.   I got interested in mobile technologies in my first year of doc school and thought it would be pretty neat to see what kind of impact new media technologies, (which are huge in the developed world) had in developing societies.
There’s been a lot of research about Africa and the Internet, but Asia continues to have this mysterious allure to it, almost as though it was some impenetrable forest. It’s not! I’ve been to Pakistan (I admit my last trip was about 8 years ago) but everybody had a phone attached to his/her ear. I would e-mail my then fiancé (now hubby) from the Internet café in Gulshan-e-Iqbal.  In the mornings, I would see the street vendors setting up their wares and produce while chatting on their cells.  This concept of the cell phone being something that is only available to the Western world is a myth.
Anyway, here’s a video I found on youtube.com from Teleuse at the Bottom of the Pyramid Part 1 of 2
I’ll save 2 of 2 for my next posting.  This video was done by an organization called LIRNEasia, which is “a regional information and communication technology (ICT) policy and regulation think tank active across the Asia-Pacific.”  Here’s their link: http://lirneasia.net/.

Leave a Reply

